Baie des Îles : culture et histoire maories

La naissance d'Aotearoa en Nouvelle-Zélande en tant que pays moderne commence ici, dans l'Extrême-Nord, et la Baie des Îles est riche en lieux culturels et historiques maoris. Kerikeri abrite les plus anciens bâtiments européens de Nouvelle-Zélande, et tout a commencé sur le site du traité de Waitangi.

Visiter la Bay of Islands NZ le jour de Waitangi : ce que vous devez savoir.

Visiter la Bay of Islands NZ le jour de Waitangi : ce que vous devez savoir.

Guide destiné aux visiteurs internationaux, le Waitangi Day est un jour important dans l'histoire de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Célébrée chaque année le 6 février, elle commémore la signature du Traité de Waitangi, document fondateur du pays. La Baie des Îles est une destination populaire auprès des visiteurs ce jour-là, car c'est le lieu où le traité a été signé.

lire la suite

Visiter la Bay of Islands NZ le jour de Waitangi : ce que vous devez savoir.

Guide destiné aux visiteurs internationaux, le Waitangi Day est un jour important dans l'histoire de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Célébrée chaque année le 6 février, elle commémore la signature du Traité de Waitangi, document fondateur du pays. La Baie des Îles est une destination populaire auprès des visiteurs ce jour-là, car c'est le lieu où le traité a été signé.

Un peu d'histoire de Bay of Islands

La Baie des Îles est considérée comme le berceau de la Nouvelle-Zélande moderne, et les événements de Kerikeri, Waitangi et Russell ont façonné le célèbre traité et les premiers engagements européens avec les Maoris.

Le nouveau musée Waitangi – un véritable « taonga »

Te Kōngahu – le nouveau musée du Traité de Waitangi a ouvert ses portes au public le 8 février 2016 et constitue véritablement un nouveau « taonga » pour la Baie des Îles et la Nouvelle-Zélande ; une visite bien méritée.

Des Maoris et des missionnaires

Nous aimons recommander des thèmes aux clients en fonction de leurs intérêts pour des excursions d'une journée, et l'un de nos favoris est le sentier missionnaire de la Baie des Îles.

Bay of Islands: Māori Culture and History

Aotearoa New Zealand’s birth as a modern country starts here in the Far North, and the Bay of Islands is rich in Māori cultural and historic places.  Kerikeri is home to New Zealand’s oldest European buildings, and the Waitangi Treaty Grounds is where it all began.

Visiting the Bay of Islands NZ on Waitangi Day: what you need to know.

Visiting the Bay of Islands NZ on Waitangi Day: what you need to know.

A guide for international visitors, Waitangi Day is a significant day in New Zealand’s history. Celebrated annually on February 6th, it commemorates the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi, the country’s founding document. The Bay of Islands is a popular destination for visitors on this day, as it is the location where the treaty was signed.

read more

Visiting the Bay of Islands NZ on Waitangi Day: what you need to know.

A guide for international visitors, Waitangi Day is a significant day in New Zealand’s history. Celebrated annually on February 6th, it commemorates the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi, the country’s founding document. The Bay of Islands is a popular destination for visitors on this day, as it is the location where the treaty was signed.

A little Bay of Islands history

The Bay of Islands is considered the birthplace of modern New Zealand, and events in Kerikeri, Waitangi and Russell shaped the famous Treaty, and early European engagement with Maori.

The new Waitangi museum – a true ‘taonga’

Te Kōngahu – the new Treaty of Waitangi museum opened its doors to the public on the 8th February 2016, and is truly a new ‘taonga’ for the Bay of Islands and New Zealand; much deserved of a visit.

Of Māoris and Missionaries

We love to recommend themes for guests along their interests for day trips, and one of our favourites is the Bay of Islands’ Missionary Trail.